January is School Board Appreciation Month

Dawson ISD celebrates School Board Recognition Month this January

(Dawson, Texas) – January is School Board Recognition Month and Dawson ISD is honored to celebrate its trustees for their dedication and commitment to the district’s schools and students.

“Our school board members are selfless volunteers who spend long hours working to ensure all of our students have the opportunity to learn and grow,” Superintendent Stacy Henderson said. “Celebrating School Board Recognition Month is one way to say thanks for all they do.”

Serving as a link between the community and classroom, school board members are elected to establish the policies that provide the framework for public schools. The Dawson ISD board is responsible for an annual budget of over $9 million, over 500 students, 100 employees, and 3 total campuses.

“School boards are essential to a strong public education system,” Texas Association of School Boards (TASB) Executive Director Dan Troxell said. “They provide the local governance and oversight that makes it possible for school districts to serve students, including establishing a strategic plan, adopting policies, approving a budget and selecting and evaluating a superintendent. It’s fitting that we celebrate them in January as their leadership is key to the success of every school district in Texas.”

Board members serving Dawson ISD are Samara McLennan - President, Jeremy Williams - Vice President, Darryl Rogers - Treasurer, Kris Matthews, Scott Heaton, Suzanne Hasse, and David Matthews.

Learn more about school board service at www.tasb.org. Learn more about Dawson ISD at www.dawsonisd.net.